Ask or search for anything







This is experimental AI integration by Kagi Search. It is currently offered as free research preview and will be soon integrated into Kagi.

Web + AI

Histamine intolerance is a condition in which the body has difficulty breaking down histamine, resulting in symptoms such as headaches, skin rashes, and digestive issues [1]. It is believed to be caused by an insufficient amount of diamine oxidase (DAO) enzyme produced by the body [2], which normally breaks down histamine. DAO deficiency can also lead to mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), where mast cells are triggered too easily and release excessive amounts of histamine into the bloodstream [3]. Estrogen levels have been linked to increased production of DAO and decreased MCAS symptoms during pregnancy [4]. Other factors that may contribute to MCAS include intestinal permeability due to lack of DAO, inflammation, genetic mutations, environmental triggers such as stress or toxins, and certain medications [5][6][7]. Natural treatments for MCAS include dietary changes such as avoiding high-histamine foods and taking supplements like vitamin C or quercetin that help reduce inflammation[8][9]. Additionally, probiotics may help increase production of DAO enzymes in the gut[10]


[1]: Histamine Intolerance Originates in the Gut - PMC (https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC8069563/)
[2]: Diamine Oxidase (DAO) for MCAS and HIT – Mast Cell 360 (https://mastcell360.com/diamine-oxidase-new-cleaner-formula-must-read-if-you-have-mast-cell-activation-syndrome-or-histamine-intolerance/)
[3]: What to Know About Diamine Oxidase (DAO) for Histamine Intolerance (https://www.webmd.com/allergies/what-to-know-about-diamine-oxidase-histamine-intolerance)
[4]: The Curious Link Between Estrogen and Mast Cells and Histamine (https://www.larabriden.com/the-curious-link-between-estrogen-and-histamine-intolerance/)
[5]: Mast Cell Activation Syndrome and Histamine: When Your Immune ... (https://hoffmancentre.com/mast-cell-activation-syndrome-histamine-immune-system-runs-rampant/)
[6]: Systemic mastocytosis - Symptoms and causes - Mayo Clinic (https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/systemic-mastocytosis/symptoms-causes/syc-20352859)
[7]: Is Your Histamine Intolerance Actually MCAS? | Mast Cells Histamine (https://hoffmancentre.com/histamine-intolerance-actually-mast-cell-activation-syndrome/)
[8]: Histamine and histamine intolerance | The American Journal of ... (https://academic.oup.com/ajcn/article/85/5/1185/4633007)
[9]: Natural Treatments for Mast Cell Activation Syndrome (https://hoffmancentre.com/natural-treatments-for-mcas/)
[10]: Histamine Intolerance and the Gut: A Web of Connections ... (https://integrative-medicine.ca/histamine-intolerance-gut/)

AI

1. Avoid foods that are high in histamine, such as aged cheeses, cured meats, fermented foods, and alcohol.

2. Take supplements to support mast cell health such as quercetin and vitamin C.

3. Eat a diet rich in anti-inflammatory foods like leafy greens, fatty fish, nuts and seeds, and healthy fats like olive oil or avocado oil. 

4. Consider taking an enzyme supplement containing diamine oxidase (DAO) to help break down dietary histamines before they can cause symptoms of intolerance or allergy reactions. 

5. Reduce stress levels by engaging in activities that promote relaxation such as yoga or meditation on a regular basis